User Tools

Site Tools


manual:How_do_I

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
manual:How_do_I [2017/09/24 23:19]
peternlewis [How do I cancel a running Macro?]
manual:How_do_I [2017/12/26 19:12] (current)
peternlewis [How do I backup / transfer my installation to another Mac?]
Line 156: Line 156:
 If you are going to continue using both Macs, you should use [[Macro_Syncing|Macro Syncing]] rather than transferring your information. ​ And indeed you can use Macro Syncing to transfer to a new Mac (even if both Macs wont be on at the same time as long as you preserve the sync file). If you are going to continue using both Macs, you should use [[Macro_Syncing|Macro Syncing]] rather than transferring your information. ​ And indeed you can use Macro Syncing to transfer to a new Mac (even if both Macs wont be on at the same time as long as you preserve the sync file).
  
-To transfer all your information to a new Mac you can copy the FILE{{{~/​Library/​Application Support/​Keyboard Maestro}}} folder and optionally the FILE{{{~/​Library/​Preferences/​com.stairways.keyboardmaestro.*}}} files to your new Mac. You can get to FILE{{{~/​Library}}} in the Finder by holding down the option key and selecting Library from the Go menu.+To transfer all your information to a new Mac you can copy the FILE{{{~/​Library/​Application Support/​Keyboard Maestro}}} folder and optionally the FILE{{{~/​Library/​Preferences/​com.stairways.keyboardmaestro.*}}} files to your new Mac. You can get to FILE{{{~/​Library}}} in the Finder by holding down the shift (or optionkey and selecting Library from the Go menu.
  
-Make sure that Keyboard Maestro and Keyboard Maestro Engine are not running on the source or target Mac when you transfer the folder. ​ And make sure the resulting files and folders have the correct ownership and permissions.+Make sure that Keyboard Maestro and Keyboard Maestro Engine are not running on the source or target Mac when you transfer the folder. ​ And make sure the resulting files and folders have the **correct ownership and permissions**.
  
 If you copy the FILE{{{com.stairways.keyboardmaestro.*}}} files, the new Mac will have the same [[token:​MacUUID]] token and be considered the same Mac for syncing purposes, so you should not do this if you intend to continue using the old Mac. If you copy the FILE{{{com.stairways.keyboardmaestro.*}}} files, the new Mac will have the same [[token:​MacUUID]] token and be considered the same Mac for syncing purposes, so you should not do this if you intend to continue using the old Mac.
manual/How_do_I.txt ยท Last modified: 2017/12/26 19:12 by peternlewis