User Tools

Site Tools


manual:Macro_Syncing

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
manual:Macro_Syncing [2019/06/18 01:26]
peternlewis
manual:Macro_Syncing [2019/06/18 01:27] (current)
peternlewis
Line 1: Line 1:
 ====== Macro Syncing ====== ====== Macro Syncing ======
  
-Keyboard Maestro is licensed on a per user basis on up to five Macs, so if you use it on two or more Macs you may want to transfer some of your macros from one to the other. ​ You can do this by selecting the desired macros and choosing the [[Menus#File_Export_Macros|File ➤ Export Macros menu]] to export your macros, and then importing them on the target Mac.+Keyboard Maestro is licensed on a per user basis on up to five Macs, so if you use it on two or more Macs you may want to transfer some of your macros from one to the other. ​ You can do this by selecting the desired macros and choosing the [[Menus#Export_Macros|File ➤ Export Macros menu]] to export your macros, and then importing them on the target Mac.
  
 Alternatively,​ you may want (almost) all your macros on both Macs, in which case you can set up your macros to sync between them.  This means any change you make on one Mac will be mirrored on the other and vice versa, although you generally should not edit your macros simultaneously on both Macs. Alternatively,​ you may want (almost) all your macros on both Macs, in which case you can set up your macros to sync between them.  This means any change you make on one Mac will be mirrored on the other and vice versa, although you generally should not edit your macros simultaneously on both Macs.
Line 17: Line 17:
 NOTE: Keyboard Maestro references to files or applications that exist on one Mac and not the other will likely cause problems, so you should ensure any application you reference on one Mac is available at the same path on both Macs. NOTE: Keyboard Maestro references to files or applications that exist on one Mac and not the other will likely cause problems, so you should ensure any application you reference on one Mac is available at the same path on both Macs.
  
-On the Mac that currently has your macros, choose the [[Menus#File_Start_Syncing_Macros|File ➤ Start Syncing Macros menu]]. ​ **Read the text carefully**,​ and then click the BUTTON{{{Create New}}} button. ​ Save your existing macros in the macro sync file in your shared location. ​ From now on, Keyboard Maestro will sync any changes to/from that file.+On the Mac that currently has your macros, choose the [[Menus#Start_Syncing_Macros|File ➤ Start Syncing Macros menu]]. ​ **Read the text carefully**,​ and then click the BUTTON{{{Create New}}} button. ​ Save your existing macros in the macro sync file in your shared location. ​ From now on, Keyboard Maestro will sync any changes to/from that file.
  
-Wait for the file to be mirrored to the second/​target Mac.  On that second Mac, choose the [[Menus#File_Start_Syncing_Macros|File ➤ Start Syncing Macros menu]]. Again, **read the text carefully**,​ and then click the BUTTON{{{Open Existing}}} button.+Wait for the file to be mirrored to the second/​target Mac.  On that second Mac, choose the [[Menus#Start_Syncing_Macros|File ➤ Start Syncing Macros menu]]. Again, **read the text carefully**,​ and then click the BUTTON{{{Open Existing}}} button.
  
 (!) **WARNING: All of the existing macros on this second Mac will be destroyed if you continue.** ​ If you have any macros on the second Mac that you wish to preserve, export them first, and then after syncing is enabled, import them (and they will then be synced to your other Macs). (!) **WARNING: All of the existing macros on this second Mac will be destroyed if you continue.** ​ If you have any macros on the second Mac that you wish to preserve, export them first, and then after syncing is enabled, import them (and they will then be synced to your other Macs).
manual/Macro_Syncing.txt · Last modified: 2019/06/18 01:27 by peternlewis